Call for Papers

18th International Symposium on Distributed Computing

DISC 2004

Amsterdam, Netherlands, October 4 -8, 2004 

DISC , the International Symposium on DIStributed Computing, is an annual forum for research presentations on all facets of distributed computing. The symposium was called the International Workshop on Distributed Algorithms (WDAG) from 1985 to 1997. DISC 2004 is organized in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS).

The Final Program

Accepted Papers


  • Submission Deadline: May 15, 2004, 23.59PM (CEST).(See Worldclock for local times.) Deadline has expired.
  • Acceptance Notification: July 5, 2004
  • Camera ready copy due: August 1, 2004


    Original contributions to the theory, design, analysis, implementation, or application of distributed systems and networks are solicited. 

    Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • distributed algorithms and their complexity
  • fault-tolerance of distributed systems
  • consistency conditions and synchronization
  • multiprocessor/cluster architectures and algorithms
  • cryptographic and security protocols for distributed systems
  • distributed programing languages
  • distributed operating systems
  • distributed computing issues on the Internet and the Web
  • distributed systems management
  • distributed applications such as databases, mobile agents, electronic commerce, and peer-to-peer networks
  • communication network architectures and protocols
  • specification, semantics, and verification of distributed systems


    There will be two workshops in conjunction with DISC04

  • Workshop on Geometric and Topological Methods in Distributed Computing
  • Workshop on Secure Multiparty Protocols


  • Luca Cardelli : Transitions in Programming Models (i.e. transitions caused by distributed computing)
  • Ueli Maurer : Towards a theory of consistency primitives
  • David Powell : Matching Distributed System Models to Reality


    The symposium program lists all accepted papers--regular and brief announcements. Brief Announcements get 5 to 10 minutes each and Regular Papers get 25 minutes each. The symposium proceedings will include only accepted regular papers and will be published by Springer in its Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Extended and revised versions of selected papers will be considered for a special issue of the international journal: Distributed Computing


    Ongoing work for which full papers are not ready yet or recent results published elsewhere are suitable for submission as brief announcements. It is hoped that researchers will use the brief announcement track to quickly draw the attention of the community to their experiences, insights and results from ongoing distributed computing research and projects.


    Every submission, regular or brief, should be in English, begin with a cover page (not a cover letter), and be followed by an extended abstract. The cover page must include:

  • title,
  • the names of all authors and their affiliations,
  • contact author's postal address, email address, and telephone number,
  • a brief, one paragraph abstract of the paper,
  • whether the paper is to be considered for the regular track, the brief announcement track, or both, and
  • whether the submission should be considered for the best student paper award.
  • A regular submission's extended abstract should be no longer than 4500 words and not exceed 10 pages on letter-size paper using at least 11 point font and reasonable margins. (The page limit includes all figures, tables, graphs, and references.) Additional necessary details may be included in a clearly marked appendix that will be read at the discretion of the program committee. 

    A brief announcement's extended abstract should not exceed 4 pages using at least 11 point font and reasonable margins. Submissions deviating from these guidelines will be rejected without consideration of their merits. 

    It is recommended that the extended abstract begin with a succinct statement of the problem or the issue being addressed, a summary of the main results or conclusions, a brief explanation of their significance, a brief statement of the key ideas, and a comparison with related work, all tailored to a non-specialist. Technical development of the work, directed to the specialist, should follow. 


    Authors are strongly encouraged to submit their papers electronically. Information about how to submit papers is available on Authors who cannot submit electronically must submit a printed copy to the DISC program chair at the following address: 

    Rachid Guerraoui, 
    Bat. IN,
    CH-1015 Lausanne,
    Authors submitting hard copies should also send an e-mail to the program chair indicating that they are submitting in this manner.


    A paper is eligible for the best student paper award only if it is a regular submission, one of its authors is a full-time student at the time of submission and the student's contribution is significant. The program committee may split this award or decline to make it. 


    Paul Vitanyi (Chair) and Jaap-Henk Hoepman (Co-Chair) (Univ of Amsterdam)


    Lorenzo Alvisi (UT Austin)
    Roman Vitenberg (UCSB)


    Rachid Guerraoui, EPFL


    Mustaque Ahamad (Georgia Tech)
    Lorenzo Alvisi (UT Austin)
    James Anderson (Univ of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
    Paul Attie (Northeastern Univ)
    Ozalp Babaoglu (Univ of Bologna)
    Carole Delporte (Univ of Paris VII)
    Shlomi Dolev (Ben-Gurion Univ)
    Pierre Fraigniaud (CNRS)
    Felix Gaertner (Univ of Aachen)
    Maurice Herlihy (Brown Univ)
    Nancy Lynch (MIT)
    Michael Merritt (AT&T)
    Achour Mostefaoui (IRISA)
    Mike Reiter (CMU)
    Robbert van Renesse (Cornell Univ)
    Luis Rodrigues (Univ of Lisboa)
    Paul Spirakis (CTI and Univ of Patras)
    Philippas Tsigas (Chalmers Univ)
    Paul Vitanyi (Univ of Amsterdam)
    Roman Vitenberg (UCSB)


    Hagit Attiya (Technion Univ)
    Faith Fich (Univ of Toronto)
    Marios Mavronicolas (Univ of Cyprus)
    Dahlia Malkhi (Univ of Jerusalem)
    Michel Raynal (IRISA)
    Alex Shvartsman (Univ of Connecticut and MIT)